Debut of “Rules of the Game” – Masterpiece Collaboration

439 Views |  Like

Rules Of The Game, a collaboration between grammy-winning musician Pharrell Williams, top choreographer Jonah Bokaer, and renowned visual artist Daniel Arsham, opened last night at The Brooklyn Academy Of Music; a New York premiere. Pharrell, presenting his first symphonic score, Jonah, Daniel, and costume designer Chris Stamp took to the stage for a standing ovation. After the premiere Michèle Gerber Klein chaired a benefit dinner and the art world turned out in full force.

The dinner honored Jonah Bokaer’s long time friend Diana Widmaier Picasso for her continuous support of the arts. Diana was accompanied by friends and family including Alina Baikova, Magdalena Frackowiak, Masha Markova Hanson, brother Richard Widmaier Picasso, his wife Ulli Widmaier Picasso and their two sons.

Glasses of Thiénot Champagne fueled the night’s festivities at a pre-performance toast, intermission reception and two kinds of champagne served during dinner at BAM’s Lepercq Space.

The evening was a benefit for Chez Bushwick; Jonah Bokaer’s non-profit organization that focuses on experimental dance and strives to provide affordable dance space for artists in Brooklyn.

Gala Chair Michèle Gerber Klein was joined by guests including Staffan Ahrenberg, Olivier Berggruen, Susan Chalom, Eduardo Costantini Jr, Stephan Crasneanscki, Jeffrey Deitch, Beth Rudin DeWoody, Scott Drevnig, Joanna Fisher, Stephanie French, Toni Garrn, Isabelle Bscher Gmurzynska, Angela Goding, Jae Joseph, Anne Keating, Daniel Kruglikov, Bartolome Fierro March, Paul McCann, Hans-Ulrich Obrist, Galina Polinski, Charles Renfro, Charles Riva, Elisabeth de Saint-Amand ,Hellen Allen Smith, Robert Soros, Dayana Tamendarova, and Chez Bushwick’s Chair Emerita, Patsy Tarr.



Founding Director: Jonah Bokaer

Gala Chair: Michèle Gerber Klein

Honorary Gala Chair: Paul McCann, Board Chair & Charles Fabius, Producer

the Breaking The Rules dinner Honoring: Diana Widmaier Picasso

Game Changers: Beth Rudin DeWoody / May & Samuel Rudin Foundation

Rule Breakers: Agnes Gund, Wells Fargo

Winning Streakers: Jody and John Arnhold, Barbara and Andrew Gundlach

Fair Game: Dana Buckley, Elisabeth de St. Armand, Rosalind Dear, Claude Grunitzky, Michèle and Steve Pesner, Charles Renfro

CHEZ BUSHWICK BAORD OF DIRECTORS: Paul McCann, chair; Thomas H. Lee, vice chair; Phyllis Herschenfeld, treasurer; Helen Allen, secretary

Directors: Jonah Bokaer, Michèle Gerber Klein, Phyllis Herschenfeld, Thomas H. Lee, Paul McCann, Brent Sikkema 

Chair Emerita: Patsy Tarr

Advisors: Helen Allen, Richard A. Anderman, Youness Anzane, Nicole Birmann Bloom, Wayne S. Blank, Lili Chopra, Rosalind Dear, Stephanie French, Alexander Gorlin, Claude Grunitzky, John Lithgow, Lorcan O’Neill, Sheela Raj, Ronald Rudolph, Martha Sherman 

Honorary: Marina Abramović, Daniel Arsham, Frederick W. Beinecke, Christophe de Menil, Micki Wesson, Robert Wilson